my top 5 favorite disserts from the Philippines

For my blog today I’ll be doing my top 5 favorite disserts from the Philippines. I was born in the Philippines, but I moved to Canada when I was about 5. Ever since then I could still smell the delicious sent coming from my grandmas’ kitchen. I still do it eat Filipino disserts it’s just that my dad cooks them. I also have a sweet tooth and I wanted to show you my favorite sweets, so let’s get started!

1.Turon

Turon is a Filipino snack made out of long thin slices of banana, then added with brown sugar, rolled in a spring roll wrapped, then fried until crisp. Then they added caramel on top. If you’re craving for something sweet, you can try these yummy snacks you might even become a huge fan of it.

2. Puto

Puto is a Filipino steamed rice cakes, you can eat it with other desserts or coffee if you like. When you take a bite of Puto it is very soft and it might melt in your mouth, people sometimes also put it in banana leaf. I don’t know why they do this, but I think it`s because the smell of the banana leaf.

3.Biko

Biko is a very sweet rice cake which is from the Philippines, it’s made out of coconut milk, brown sugar, ginger, and glutenous rice. The brown stuff on top is melted brown sugar, if you want something sweeter this is for you. I mostly added more sugar in mine cause it not sweet enough.

4.Leche Flan

Leche Flan is a Filippino dessert and is like a caramel custard consisting of milk, sugar, egg yolks, and sometimes a little vanilla. Then it is topped with caramel syrup. I love leche flan it’s so sweet and creamy, we almost always have this at Filipino parties. When you bite into this you well first get the taste of the caramel syrup.

5.Halo-Halo

Halo-Halo is my favorite one of all, Halu-halu is spelled like haluhalo in tagalog it means “mixed”. It is consisting with crushed ice, evaporated milk or coconut milk, and of various jellies and beans. I love eating this when it’s really hot outside and while sitting down under the cool shade. You might like the beans in the halo-halo it is very delicious, but it has a very unusual taste after you eat them.

Thats the end of my blog thank you so much for reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *